Rank 26: ‘The Shattered Medallion’

Here is my pick for slot #26 in my ranking of the Nancy Drew games: the 30th game, “The Shattered Medallion.”

This is either going to be a short review or a long one because this game is weird.

Bess enters Nancy and George into a contest to compete in a New Zealand-based reality game show, “Pacific Run.” Of course, they win, and it’s away we go.

mini_gold_mine__full

All of a sudden, after a very, very weird opening, we’re thrown into a puzzle (one of the game show’s challenges). Then, with no direction, help, or any clues, we stumble around trying to get acquainted with the place and figure out what the heck we’re supposed to be doing.

And the best part is, the game is being produced by none other than…wait for it…the infamous Sonny Joon! We’ve seen traces of him all over the world spanning over 20 games, and now we get to see what he looks like.

We get his backstory, why he’s obsessed with Aliens and the Annunaki (cue phone conversations with Jamila from “Tomb of the Lost Queen“) and what his motives are…or do we?

medallion characters

He, along with the contestants, are cryptic, standoffish, and annoying. It’s hard to talk to any of them as all they care about is themselves. And none of them are any help, nor do they really care when something happens to George (I’m trying not to spoil anything, but this is another game that involves Bess AND George).

Bess is about the only component of this game that works. She’s her quirky self that we all love, and she provides so much comic relief (and it’s well needed).

boat race

So, what’s the mystery that needs solving? I still don’t know. There’s tons of talk of aliens, Sonny has weird things going on, we’re sheering sheep, diving submarines, collecting leaves, and plunging under the ocean in search of who knows what.

There’s no direction, clear or unclear, on anything that needs done in the game. Nothing makes sense: no one will offer a coherent sentence; none of the puzzles have anything to do with the “real” quest; and the real quest makes no sense either. NOTHING MAKES SENSE. There’s arguably not even a mystery since it’s so buried in nonsense. Or is it? I still don’t know.

submarine

How did this game make it this far in my list, you ask? Well, some of the challenges in the in-game game show were really fun. I liked the canoeing, submarine-ing, etc.

Also, there is this home base place with a cool earthquake simulator and some blast from the past mini games. It’s a well-needed distraction from the actual game.

Something about the game makes it fun to try again, so I’ll give it that. It is most definitely intriguing, and there is charm deep within the confusion.

sonny joon

Sonny Joon is a real let down though. He does not meet the expectations I had for him. I figured he’d be funny, quirky, and distracted, but he was just cryptic and weird like all the other characters.

Come back tomorrow to see which game takes spot 25!

8 Comments

  1. I remember being really frustrated when I read about this game after first playing it. I rushed to do everything, because I thought it was actually timed, or that if you were slow another team could win. You really can spend more time dilly dallying around though. Like I thought I didn’t have time to play all the mini games.

    Overall, just did not enjoy this game. Sonny was underwhelming and like you said, there was not a solid plot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember being really frustrated when I read about this game after first playing it. I rushed to do everything, because I thought it was actually timed, or that if you were slow another team could win. You really can spend more time dilly dallying around though. Like I thought I didn’t have time to play all the mini games.

    Overall, just did not enjoy this game. Sonny was underwhelming and like you said, there was not a solid plot.

    Like

  3. Oof. I’m not ashamed to say I played this game while waiting for a hangover to pass, so I’m sure my feelings about it were doomed from the start, but geez….what an absolute waste of time. I remember pulling out the walkthrough at one point, not because I was stuck, but because I wanted to finish the game as quickly as possible. Why do all the characters speak entirely in non-sequiturs? Why was finally encountering Sonny the most disappointing moment in the entire series? Why did Nancy never say that she recognized him? Why was there even a “villain” to begin with? What was the deal with Sonny’s grandfather and his hidden box of sparkly lights? Why was it impossible to get caught snooping in the producer’s area? Why was there basically no story/mystery whatsoever? Why weren’t there any consequences for anything? Why was Bess’ humor the only redeeming factor in the entire game?
    I could go on and on…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Complete Ranking List from Worst-to-Best | The Senior Detective Blog

  5. This game… This game…
    Uuuurrrrrggggghhhhhhhhhh

    Why were all the characters talking in metaphors and weird analogies? Why weren’t they talking like NORMAL PEOPLE do? Sometimes, I just want to bring the writers outside so they can learn how humans talk in the 21st century.

    They should have left Sonny Joon alone. My Sonny Joon is quirky, hyperactive, adventurous, funny, chaotic, and would be helping Nancy instead of sitting on his ass leaving the others to do his dirty work. In this version, he is mysterious, calm, and NOT quirky enough. It was as if all this time, he was acting so people wouldn’t suspect him having a hidden agenda so the truth is that he’s a boring and bland character all along????

    Like

Leave a Reply

